Gallery

Texas Star Trail Ride

Last Saturday, this year’s Texas Star Trail Ride started here in Fredericksburg for the 112-mile trek to the outskirts of Austin.

Texas Star Trail Ride

Am vergangenen Samstag startete hier in Fredericksburg der diesjährige Texas Star Trail Trek zu seinem 112-Meilen Zug bis in die Außenbezirke von Austin.

The Original Texas Star Trail from Fredericksburg is an annual central Texas weeklong trail riding event which traverses and covers a route used by most of the former settlers in the Texas Hill Country around the Fredericksburg Texas area when they needed to go to the Texas Capital in Austin. From the historic German community of Fredericksburg it travels through the most picturesque part and the highest elevation of the Texas Hill Country, covering areas that still have some of the original wagon tracks left by wagons of former travelers.

Der Original Texas Star Trail von Fredericksburg aus ist ein jährlicher Wagenzug von einer Woche Dauer, der einer Route folgt, die die meisten der ersten Siedler in Texas Hill Country nahmen, wenn sie nach Austin, der Hauptstadt von Texas, mussten. Von der historischen deutschen Gemeinde Fredericksburg aus führt der Zug durch den malerischsten und am höchsten gelegenen Teil der Texas Hill Country durch Gegenden, die zum Teil noch die alten Wagenspuren haben, von den frühen Siedlern zurückgelassen. 

I managed to catch them on [quite amateurish, I must admit] video when they were passing through Cain City on their way from Fredericksburg to Luckenbach. Unfortunately I don’t have any still as quite a severe cold paid put to my plans of seeing them again on their further days here in the vicinity.

Ich habe sie [zugegebenermaßen ziemlich amateurhaft] auf Video aufgenommen, als sie durch Cain City kamen, auf dem Weg von Fredericksburg nach Luckenbach. Standbilder habe ich leider nicht zu bieten, da mir eine ziemliche Erkältung einen Strich durcn meine Pläne gemacht hat, sie auf ihrem weiteren Weg hier in der Umgebung zu treffen.

Unfortunately, the above video seems to be blocked in Germany because of copyright reasons for the music in it. Not music I added, btw, but music that was played from one of the wagons. But anyway, I uploaded my own MP4-file, and hope that will work.

Leider scheint das obige Video aus Copyright-Gründen in Deutschland blockiert zu sein, wegen der Musik darin. Nicht dass ich die Musik unterlegt hätte. Sie kam von einem der Wagen. Aber wie auch immer, ich habe einmal meine eigene MP4-Datei hier hochgeladen und hoffe, dass das Video nun auch in Deutschland zu sehen ist.

58 responses to “Texas Star Trail Ride

  1. We’ve just come through Texas around Cypress, College Station, and Brenham. Nice weather. But I was hoping to see bluebells. We’re too early, we heard.

  2. Das Video ist für D leider gesperrt wegen der Musik.
    Schade.
    LG Hans

    • Hallo Hans,
      danke für den Hinweis. Ich denke mal, das macht YouTube. Deswegen habe ich gerade mal meine eigene MP4-Datei hochgeladen und hoffe, dass die nun in Deutschland abspielbar ist.
      Liebe Grüße aus “Cowboyland”,
      Pit
      P.S.: Immer dieses Copyright! Mal laufen die Videos hier nicht, mal nicht in Deutschland. Und dabei war es gar nicht einmal ich, der die Musik unterlegt hat, sondern sie wurde von einem der Wagen aus gespielt.

      • Ja, klar macht das YT. Die haben in D immer das Theater mit der GEMA. Die fordern Gebühren, egal ob live gespielte Musik oder aufgespielte, YT zahlt aber nicht. Sogar wenn du selbst auf dem Klavier ein Stück von Mozart spielst oder selbst alte, überlieferte Volkslieder singst, ist das angeblich eine Urheberrechtsverletzung, weil angeblich irgendwer die Rechte hat!
        Selbst bei Live Sound vom Kirmesplatz, wo man kaum etwas von der Musik versteht, machen die so ein Theater.
        Ist leider so. 😦
        LG

        • Hallo Hans,
          das kann aber auch hier passieren. YouTube hat eines meiner Videos von der Lichterparade hier zu Weihnachten gar nicht erst publiziert, weil da ein Weihnachtslied [ich weiß nicht mehr, welches] zu hören war. Aber andere Lieder sind durchgegangen. Na ja, mit meinem MP4-File klappt es hoffentlich.
          LG aus einem verregneten [Gott sei Dank, denn wir brauchen Regen] südlichen Texas,
          Pit
          P.S.: Nur die Trail Rider tun mir leid, denn die sind jetzt in Schmuddelwetter unterwegs.

  3. Das Bild zum Video sieht schon spannend aus. Da ich gerne Pferde mag, hätte ich sicher auch zugeschaut. Liebe Grüße und einen schönen Donnerstag, Leonie

    • Hallo Leonie,
      wie gerade oben zu Hans geschrieben: ich habe mal meine Original-MP4-Datei hochgeladen und hoffe, dass die in Deutschland ohne Probleme laeuft.
      Auch Dir einen schönen (Rest)donnerstag, und liebe Grüße,
      Pit

  4. Fun to watch Pit. Thanks for sharing your video. Back in cold and wet UK now missing that sunshine.

    • Hi Colin,
      Glad you liked the video – in spite of its rather amatuerish quality.
      Here the weather is cool and rainy, too. That Saturday when I took the video was the last really nice day. But we’re happy since we really need the rain – more even.
      Take care
      Pit

  5. Wunsche dir einen schönen Tag leider ist das Video nicht zu sehen schade wünsche dir noch einen guten Nachmittag Gruß von mir Gislinde

    • Hallo Gislinde,
      nachdem ich meine Orginaldatei direkt bei WP hochgeladen habe, hoffe ich, dass nun auch meine deutschen Besucher dieses Video sehen koennen.
      Hab’s fein,
      Pit

  6. It looks great!! I hope your cold passes soon! cheers, Johanna

    • Hi Johanna,
      I agree: it’s a nice view, these wagons and horses. I love them. Oh, and the riders, too! My cold is nearly gone, btw. Thanks.
      Have a great time,
      Pit

  7. I liked that Calistoga wagon that was leading. I am quite surprised at how few wagons there were. You did a nice job on the video. Thanks.

  8. After a wet night with windstorms and power outages here, I was very envious of your beautiful weather for this trail ride. Looks like a very pleasant day!

    • Hi Anneli,
      That day was tha last day with really nice weather. After that, one front after the other came through, brining cooler weather and the much needed rain. Not big showers here, but some really beneficial rain. We’re quite happy, and hoping we’ll get even more.
      Btw, Sunday night we had our windy night with thunder, lightning and power outages.
      Have a great time,
      Pit

  9. Jetzt ist das Video zu sehen. Tolle Impressionen, wie man es hier aus Western Filmen kennt!
    Allerdings, Räder mit Gummireifen hätten die alten Pionieren sicher auch schon gerne dran gehabt. 🙂

    LG Hans

    • Hallo Hans,
      die vielen gummibereiften Wagen haben mich auch enttaeuscht [siehe auch John’s Kommentar]. Leider waren nur ganze drei authentische Wagen dabei. Aber trotzdem war es sehenswert.
      LG,
      Pit

  10. That’s a long way, Pit! Presumably they have overnight stays. How long does the whole thing take? Rough weather in your part of the world? (from the comments). Hope you’re fully fit soon. 🙂

    • Hi Jo,
      Yes, it’s quite a trek, They take a week for it. Well, we didn’t actually rough weather here in Fredericksburg, but very nice and welcome rain. Thanks for wishing me well. I’m 99% over my cold.
      Have a great weekend,
      Pit

  11. I have a question for you…what do the tourists say is the cutest or most favorable hotel, cabin, B & B etc to stay at in Fredericksburg?

    • Now that is, with more than 600 B&Bs here in Fredericksburg, quite a tough question! 😉 We have been to about 10 while we were still tourists visiting here. So let me just give you my ideas of B&Bs we liked. But one remark first: don’t expect a good breakfast in all of them. Some don’t serve breakfast at all, even if the call themselves B&Bs. You might get only a voucher for a cafe in town. Anyway, here’s my run-down on B&Bs we liked:
      – Brigid’s Cottage: that would be one of my favourites. Check out what I blogged about it: http://tinyurl.com/zewv8jj
      – Le Chalet: another of my favourites, especially because of the unobtrusive but very hospitable hosts, and the great breakfast. I wrote about it here [http://tinyurl.com/zqmxbn9]. Unfortunately that’s in German, but you can see some pictures. What took us i when we opened te door was the beautifully laid-out table and the wonderful soft background music.
      – Deer Ridge Cottage: that’s about 7 miles out of town, but with magnificent views. Here’s my post about it: http://tinyurl.com/gvdldb4 Sorry that it;s in German only again.
      – The Little Yellow House: very convenient within walking distance from the twon centre, but ver small inside. We’ve heard that with changed ownership it is now quite expensive, considering what it offers. Some pictures here: http://tinyurl.com/jhyzvk3 I don’t know if I should recommend it any more.
      – Grape Creek Bungalow: about 8 – 9 miles out of town, very secluded, in a fantastic setting. It’s an old 1820s log cabin in 40 acres, with a creek. You find pictures of the cabin and the creek here: http://tinyurl.com/obvn6f8
      I hope the above info will help you. Let me know if you need more.
      Does your inquiry mean that you’re planning to come to Fredericksburg? If so, let me know and we can get together.
      Have a great weekend,
      Pit

  12. I’ve never heard of this, but it looks so cool!

    Also, Paul’s bike came this week, so we’re going to test it out this afternoon with a small ride, I think. I am hoping he enjoys it, so we can get some personal information on the local trails to give you if you get up here to ride!

  13. I did a little searching but I didn’t find out why this ride has any more to do with the stars than any other trail ride, unless it’s because some activities occur at night.

  14. Hallo Pit,
    ich hoffe die Erkältung ist vorüber. Das Video und die ganze Aktion ist klasse anzuschauen!
    Liebe Grüsse zum Wochenende!
    Uta

    • Hallo Uta,
      ja, die Erkaeltung ist vorbei. Danke der Nachfrage. 🙂
      Diese Trail Rides gibt es hier relativ haeufig, und sie sind immer interessant anzuschauen.
      Hab’ eine feine Woche,
      Pit

  15. Danke ich wünsche dir auch eine gute Woche Gesundheit und Glück Gruß Gislinde

  16. I’d love to see this trail ride! Thank you for the video, Pit. Glad you got over with your cool. I had bad cool last week lasted for two days.

    • You’re welcome, Amy. Glad you like the video. I enjoyed watching the wagenon and riders go past, even if most of the wagons were too modern for my liking.
      Glad you’ve got over your cold, too.
      Have a great week,
      Pit

  17. That would be wonderful to attend! Glad you feel better!

  18. That looks like fun. I would love to do something like that someday. First I have to find a horse.

  19. Ohhhhh wie schön ! Zuerst war ich schon traurig , aber zum Glück hast du das Video ja nochmal ohne Musik eingestellt ! Liebe Grüsse Anja

    • Hallo Anja,
      freut mich, dass Du das Video jetzt auch hast sehen koennen. Ich dachte mir, dass es Dir gefallen wuerde. 🙂 Aber “ohne Musik”? Kann man die jetzt in Deutschland nicht hoeren? Hier bei mir ist die Musik in beiden Versionen da. Ich mag “Miles and Miles of Texas” von “Asleep at the Wheel” sehr. Und es passt auch prima zum Video, finde ich. Irgendwie finde ich das mit dem Copyright bloed. Es ist ja nicht so, dass ich die Musik unterlegt haette, sondern sie kam von einem der Wagen.
      Uebrigens, nur des Interesses halber: kannst Du in Deutschland das Video direkt auf YouTube [https://youtu.be/3wSefOqLmSE] sehen? Oder ist es gesperrt? Wuerde mich mal interessieren.
      Macht’s gut in “good ol’ Germany”,
      Pit

Hi, what's your take on this? Let me know. - Hallo, und was meinst Du? Schreib' doch mal.

