Gallery

“Double Crossing” the Pedernales

I explored a new route for bicycling today and that, “Double Crossing” the Pedernales, is what I’m going to call it as the ride crosses the Pedernales River twice.

It’s an easy 21-mile ride, with just 1115 ft. of total elevation gain, and no great climbs, just a few short ones of more than 10%. I must say, I enjoyed it a lot. Today, just to get a feel of it, I took the Dancelli with its wider spread of gears, but for future rides I might try the Motta whose road gears will be ok an this route.

“Double Crossing” the Pedernales

Für meine deutschen Leser sollte ich wohl dieses Wortspiel erklären: natürlich meine ich “double crossing” nicht im übertragenen Sinne von “hereinlegen”, sondern ich habe diese Bezeichnung für die neue Radroute, die ich heute zum ersten Mal gefahren bin, gewählt, weil ich dabei tatsächlich den Pedernales zwei Mal überquert habe. Es ist eine relativ leichte Route von 21 Meilen mit nur etwa 330 Höhenmetern, und keinen starken Anstiegen, sondern nur ein paar kurzen von mehr als 10%. Ich muss wirklich sagen, diese Route hat mir sehr gefallen. Heute, um ein Gefühl für diese Strecke zu bekommen, und weil ich mir nicht ganz sicher war, was mich erwarten würde, habe ich mein Dancelli genommen wegen der größeren Spreizung der Übersetzung, aber in Zukunft werde ich wohl das Motta auf dieser Strecke fahren. Die Straßenübersetzung des Motta ist durchaus ok dafür.

70 responses to ““Double Crossing” the Pedernales

    • Hi Anneli,
      Well, “only” is true in one way: that ride is one of the shorter ones that are kind of a round trip, and not out and back. But it is one of the longer ones I did recently. I’m still trying to get back into my former shape after a year with not much exercise. But I’m getting there. So, after a while, this ride may become one of my shorter ones, and “only 21 miles” will be an apt description. But whatever, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
      Have a great time,
      Pit

  1. Hallo Pit,
    das klingt fein und die Fotos lassen nicht unbedingt auf Winter schließen.
    Heute hat es bei uns über Nacht Schnee gegeben, da ist so ein Sonnenausblick durchaus was Schönes.
    Habs gut…
    Marion

    • Hallo Marion,
      es war auch fein! Hier ist es im Augenblick wirklich nicht winterlich, sondern eher frühlingshaft. Jetzt gerade [09:35 Uhr] haben wir strahlenden Sonnenschein und recht kühle 7 Grad Celsius. Im Laufe des Tages soll es bis auf 18 Grad gehen. Und so ein Wetter [überwiegend heiter mit Tageshöchsttemperaturen über 15 Grad, und auch des nachts keinen Frost] sollen wir noch für die naechsten 10 Tage [weiter geht meine Vorhersage nicht] haben.
      Das ist hier im südlichen Texas, auch in der etwas bergigeren und hoeheren Gegend [Texas Hill Country] normal. Für längere Zeit richtig kalt wird es hier nur selten. So mal eine Woche am Stück kann durchaus sein, und damit ist im Januar und Februar auch zu rechnen. Mit Nachtfrösten müssen wir bis Anfang April rechnen. Schnee ist auch selten – leider.
      Was wir mittlerweile aber wieder bzw. immer noch brauchen ist Regen.
      So, das war’s dann mal über Wetter in Texas Hill Country.
      Hab’s fein,
      Pit

  2. Hallo Pit, schön, dass Du Dein Hobby Rad fahren in einer so landschaftlich reizvollen Gegend genießen kannst. Auf Teneriffa gefällt mir die Landschaft zwar auch, aber es geht immer bergauf. Liebe Grüße und sicheres biken, Leonie

    • Hallo Leonie,
      die zum Radeln landschaftlich wirklich reizvolle Gegend war ein ganz wesentlicher Grund, warum wir nach Fredericksburg gezogen sind. Plus die Tatsache, dass hier auch die ganz kleinen Landstraßen [die ohne viel Verkehr] asphaltiert sind. Da macht Radeln echt Spaß. Dazu kommt, dass ich die Auswahl von (kräftig) hügelig bis weitgehend flach habe. Wenn ich vom Grundstueck aus nach rechts fahre, geht’s in die “Berge” [na ja, keinesfalls wie bei Dir, aber doch schon mit recht knackigen, wenn auch kurzen, Steigungen]. Wenn ich aber nach links und dann durch Fredericksburg weiter südlich fahre, ist es relativ flach. Anders eben als bei Dir. Du musst dann eben immer daran denken, wenn Du Dich bergauf quälst, dass es zurück dann ja bergab geht.
      Hab’s fein, und auch Dir safe bicycling,
      Pit
      P.S.: Und wenn die Oberschenkel einmal brennen [das kann auch hier vorkommen], halte ich es mit Jens Voigt und seinem Wahlspruch “Shut up, legs!” 😉 Oder mit Erik Zabel, der Jan Ullrich einmal mit dem Spruch “Quäl dich, du Sau!” “motiviert” 😉 hat.

  3. Tolle Bilder.Da macht Rad fahren richtig Spaß. Dir noch einen schönen Tag. L.G.

    • Hallo Lutz,
      ja, die Gegend ist schon toll und Radeln hier macht wirklich Freude. Ich muesste noch viel oefter anhalten und Bilder machen. Aber wenn ich so richtig im Schwung bin, halte ich nicht gerne an.
      Hab’s fein,
      Pit

  4. Hi lieber Pit,
    ich bin wieder zurück in Bonn und habe deine sooo liebe Weihnachtspost vorgefunden, herzlichen Dank!
    Sag mal, sind die schönen Aufnahmen von heute?? Es sieht so unwinterlich aus, ganz anders als die zahlreichen Schneesturmberichte und Hurricanmeldungen aus Texas in letzter Zeit. Super, dass du deine geliebte Radsport in dieser Umgebung ausüben kannst.
    Regengrüße aus dem Rheinland an dich und Mary,
    Hanne

    • Hallo liebe Dina,
      gern geschehen, was die Weihnachtspost angeht.
      Die Aufnahmen sind tatsächlich während der Radtour entstanden. Wie oben schon zu Marion geschrieben: wir haben zur Zeit ein eher frühlingshaftes Wetter. Ganz prima zum Radeln. Jetzt muss ich nur noch meinen “Allerwertesten” wieder an die harten Fahrradsättel gewöhnen. 😉
      Wir haben hier in Texas Hill Country, was unwirtliches Wetter angeht, wirklich Glück. Die Schneestürme – und sie künnen echt schlimm sein – gibt es (viel) weiter nordwestlich, im Panhandle um Lubbock und Amarillo herum, und die Tornados eher weiter (nord)östlich, um Dallas/Fort Worth herum und dann nach Oklahoma hinein. Was nicht heißt, dass nicht auch hier mal ein Tornado vorkommen kann. Im vergangenen Herbst hat einer unsere städtische Wasserversorgungsstation arg mitgenommen. Aber hier sind Tornados Gott sei dank eben doch selten.
      Liebe Grüße nach Bonn [und schick’ doch den Regen nach hier: wir brauchen ihn wirklich], auch von Mary, und auch an die restlichen drei Viertel der Fab Four,
      Pit

  5. Einen schönen Mittwoch lieber Pit schöne Fotos ich kann mir schon verstellen das Fahrradfahren richtig Spass macht.Ich grüße dich Herzlich Gislinde

  6. 21 miles…that is impressive! Gorgeous route too! No cycling here…finally we have snow! Cheers, Johanna

    • Hi Johanna,
      Thanks for the praise. I hope to get into a better shape still and then do even longer rides. The area here is ever so wonderful. All those small country roads – well paved but without much traffic. And the gorgeous views. I’m planning on taking my video camera some time soon.
      So you’re having snow! Well, not here. We’ll have to wait and see if we’ll get any.
      Have a great time,
      Pit

  7. Lucky you! Blue skies. Jealous.

  8. I have always been interested in the Pedernales since President Johnson used to go on and on about how much he loved it. My 8 miles on the sand looks puny compared to your distance.

    • Hi John,
      As to LBJ and the Pedernales: I’ll be involved in planning hiking and biking trails interconnecting the two parks [state and national] and the Sauer-Beckmann farm in Johnson City. And I’ve also been involved with the LBJ 100 Bicycle tour from its beginning – either as a participant or a helper. I’m planning to ride in it again this year on April 2.
      As to 8 miles on sand: that’s nit puny at all considering how much more of an effort it is on sand than on a paved roadway.
      Have a great day,
      Pit

  9. Flüsse, Wasser, üben immer eine große Faszination aus, auf mich zumindest. Wirst du vielleicht diese Strecke auch mal in anderen Jahreszeiten fahren?
    LG aus Köln, Ingrid

    • Hallo Ingrid,
      diese Strecke werde ich mit Sicherheit noch öfter, also auch zu anderen Jahreszeiten fahren. Dabei hoffe ich dann auch auf andere “Wasser(zu)stände”. Wobei ich aber fürchte, dass in den hier üblichen Sommern der Pedernales zu einem Rinnsal werden wird. Ich habe vor, auch an anderen Stellen anzuhalten und Bilder zu machen, denn die Gegend da hat wirklich ihren Reiz. Und vielleicht wird auch ein Video draus.
      Hab’s fein,
      Pit
      P.S.: eine andere Stelle am Pedernales hatte ich in meinem Beitrag “Luckenbach Loop” ja schon gezeigt, und Du hattest die ja auch gesehen. Die Stelle da fand ich eigentlich sogar schöner als die hier gezeigte.

  10. Good to be out and about in the fresh air, Pit! Have a happy weekend 🙂

    • Hi Jo,
      Yes, it’s great when one can be out and about (on the bike) even in January. Unfortunately, though, this weekend will not be as fine: colder and overcast. So, maybe I’ll stay indoors, even if it’s not really bad weather. But I’m definitely a “good weather person”. 😉
      A happy weekend to you, too,
      Pit

  11. Oh, looks great! If only it was warm enough here to ride a bike anywhere…

    That said, Paul is getting a bike for his birthday (he knows, so it’s not much of a surprise). We’re thinking of warmer weather here, even if it is a long way in the future!

    • Hi Sarah,
      It was a great ride, and I hope to do it more often – when the weather permits. Well, here in southern Texas that’s often. Even if it’s cold(er): I have my warm bicycling clothes. It’s only my weaker self that I have to overcome. 😉
      So, Paul is getting a bicycle for his birthday. That’s great! I hope he’ll enjoy it and that, despite your colder climate, he’ll be able to ride it a lot. Maybe after his birthday you’ll show the bike on your blog? You know, I’m nosy! 😉
      Have a great weekend,
      Pit

      • Well, don’t expect much from the bike – he hasn’t spent much time on one since he was a kid, so we’re going to start with something not-so-expensive to see if he enjoys it now that he’s older. I am hoping to do more riding this summer. We have lots of nice bike paths around us. I much prefer those to the street. I can be on one in about half a mile from the house, and from there I can go all over!

        • That’s a very sound idea: not to spend a lot of money on a bike before you really know if you want to get into riding a bicycle again. Only make sure it’s a comfortable one and (fairly) easy to ride. So it won’t put him off immediately.
          I hope you’ll be able to ride more this summer, as you want to. It’s always a pleasure to have good bicycling paths nearby. Glad you have those. That’s what is so positive in Germany: thousands of miles of dedicated bicycle paths.
          One of the reasons we moved here to Fredericksburg is the great bicycling country. I hop on my bicycle here at the house, turn to the left on the road and have, as the song goes, “Miles and Miles of Texas”. Gillespie countyr is ideal for bicycling – even if it surely is Texas HILL country.

  12. That’s a very sound idea: not to spend a lot of money on a bike before you really know if you want to get into riding a bicycle again. Only make sure it’s a comfortable one and (fairly) easy to ride. So it won’t put him off immediately.
    I hope you’ll be able to ride more this summer, as you want to. It’s always a pleasure to have good bicycling paths nearby. Glad you have those. That’s what is so positive in Germany: thousands of miles of dedicated bicycle paths.
    One of the reasons we moved here to Fredericksburg is the great bicycling country. I hop on my bicycle here at the house, turn to the left on the road and have, as the song goes, “Miles and Miles of Texas”. Gillespie countyr is ideal for bicycling – even if it surely is Texas HILL country.

  13. Looks beautiful, and only 21 miles! 🙂 We visited there two years ago, the water was very low.

    • I agree, Amy, the Pedernales is really beautiful, even in winter. And after our (fairly) wet autumn is has a nice flow of water. Let’s hope for good rains during the next few months, to fill it up before the usual dry summer.
      I’m really looking forward to bicycling more of that River Road – it has gorgeous views.
      Have a great week,
      Pit

  14. 21 miles sounds like a good ride to me Pit! Lovely to follow the water which I find always makes a ride more interesting. Happy cycling!

  15. The river seems calm and great for spending a couple of hours here. Thanks sharing.

  16. Not blogging, Pit? Hope everything’s ok with you? Thank you for all the tweets and likes. 🙂

    • Hi Jo,
      You’re welcome re the likes and tweets. 🙂 And thanks for asking if I’m ok: yes, I am. Doing fine. I don’t know, I just had a kind of blogging block. Plus some other interests. But I’ll be back with more soon. Have just downloaded some pictures from a weekend [my wife’s birthday] at the coast. Need to sort them and the publish.
      Havea great week,
      Pit

  17. Wow! that was a great experience. To discover something while riding a bicycle. You may learn a lot of things while enjoying your passion. Thanks for sharing…

  18. Cycling definitely takes us to amazing places! You could never see that by car 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

    • I totally agree: it’s a wonderful experience to hear the wind rustling the trees, the water in the creeks and rivers gurgling and the birds singing. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend,
      Pit

  19. In dieser idyllischen Umgebung wuerde ich auch gerne radfahren. Ich sehe auch, dass das Rad dich durch das Leben begleitet. Hab einen feinen Abend🚴 L.G. Martina

    • Hallo Martina,
      die Umgebung hier ist wirklich idyllisch zum Radfahren. Stellenweise schon ein wenig hügelig bis bergig, aber – mit noch ein wenig mehr Training und einem Rad mit der richtigen Übersetzung – machbar.
      Weitere Radelberichte von hier [mit Bildern und auch einem Video]:
      http://tinyurl.com/n9cgt9v
      http://tinyurl.com/orvcx8r
      http://tinyurl.com/nnj5dbw
      http://tinyurl.com/pesgc3c
      Mehr (Videos) muss ich demnächst noch bei YouTube hochladen.
      Das Rad hat mich wirklich, schon seit ich als 6-Jähriger mit meinem ersten Fahrrad in den Linner Burggraben gefahren bin, in meinem Leben begleitet. Allerdings mit einer langen Pause nach dem Abitur. Hatte ich Dir schon erzählt, dass ich mein erstes Straßenrennrad in Italien habe (zusammen)bauen lassen? Bei Cicli Baldo in Trento. Ein guter Freund von mir hatte da sein Rad her und hat mich an diesen Fahrradladen gebracht. Auf einer Tour zum Skifahren in Chiesa habe ich es dann abgeholt. Das war mein ganzer Stolz. Es hat mich auch hier nach Texas begleitet und ich war viel damit unterwegs bis … ich beim Zuruecksetzen mit dem Wagen nicht aufgepasst habe und über mein eigenes Rad gefahren bin. Ich hätte mich in den A**** beißen können. 😉 Aber ich habe vollwertigen Ersatz gefunden. Hier [http://tinyurl.com/h6bgy2w] mein zweites Dancelli [in einem alten Blog, dass ich nicht mehr weiter betreibe] und hier mein Motta, “meine italienische Freundin” [http://tinyurl.com/kqsjay6]. Diese alten italienischen Stahlrenner haben es mir angetan. Ich habe noch zwei weitere Dancelli-Rahmen hier in meiner “Radbastelstube”, die ich noch zu vollständigen Rennrädern aufbauen will. Radverrückt – ich gebe es zu. 😉
      Hab’s fein,
      Pit

  20. It looks like a wonderful bike ride. I signed up for a 200 plus mile bike ride (Seattle to Portland) this morning so at the beginning of January I started 5 and ten mile walks. This month I will start riding again (20 to 50 mile rides) when the rain lets up enough.

    • Thanks for stopping by at my blog and leaving a comment. 🙂 This bike ride is indeed wonderful, as are many others here in the Texas Hill Country, e.g. this one: http://tinyurl.com/n9cgt9v . You signed up for a 200-mile ride?! Amazing! But not for me. I’ll be happy to be in a good shape for the 42-mile route at the LBJ 100 [http://www.lbj100.bike/] out of the LBJ Ranch in Stonewall/TX on April 2.
      Safe bicycling to you, always,
      Pit

  21. Pit….how could you leave that charming Bavarian hamlet known as KC? Sarcasm, of course.

    Glad you’re in the The Hills. I love this area. It ain’t the Alps and you’ll never see Julie Andrews up on a hill, singing, twirling and lamenting her monastic lifestyle, but it’s a nice place with much cooler temps.

    Hope you’re well.

    LK

    • Hi Laurie,
      Thanks for staking your time to stop by, visiting my blog and leaving a comment.
      Yeah, what a shame leaving a wonderfully quiet small Texas town like KC for something as big, bustling and diverse as Fritztown! 😉
      Well, you know what Karnes City – or Karnes County rather – has become after the oil boom. Not worth living there any more. At one time, shoertly before we moved, my wife was sitting on the front porch and within just 30 minutes counted 75! eighteen-wheelers roaring by on 181. And as to my hobby [bicycling]: that has become positively life treatening down there. Well, you say it’s not the Alps. True. But the Texas Hill Country is challenging enough for me on my bicycle(s).
      We certainly love the Hill Country and Fritztown – so much going on here. Plus the wonderful countryside.
      Take care,
      Pit
      P.S.: My wife [I believe you know her] is in California just now, but she’ll certainly wish me to give her regards.

      • And please give her mine. Yeah, these hills aren’t snow peaked but they’ll give you a good workout. I graduated from KCHS in 1977. One of my classmates was Margaret Gotthardt, who if memory serves, is o e of your wife’s relatives. If so, can you update me on Margaret?

        Best,
        LK

        This week the warmer temps will return, but I love chillier weather.

        • Will give your regards to my wife.
          So you were Magic’s classmate?! She’s doing fine, having retired from her work at Otto Kaiser. Just enjoying life, and staying pretty much around in KC.
          Yes, the hills here do give me a good workout. Some even to much of it. 😉
          Re weather: it’s definitely much more pleasant than in KC – drier and cooler [even if not too much sometimes]. We enjoy it. We could do with rain just now, though. And I would wish for a few more degrees and less wind. That would make bicycling more enjoyable.

  22. Magic??? Margaret’s nickname is magic?? I never knew that, then again, I really haven’t seen her since a ten year class reunion in 1987. I haven’t kept up with anyone really. Cheryl Smith Neiswender, is about it and unfortunately, we talk infrequently.

    I like less humidity. I moved to,Boerne straight from Houston in August 2012. I’m thoroughly enjoyed the climate difference.

    So did my hair.

    Guten tag,
    Laurie von Kendrickstein

  23. Great pictures of the area, and I looked at the route too, and that is a pretty cool route. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks! 🙂 I like that route very much. Not too much traffic, and doable – for me – on a road bike.

    • P.S.: There are other great rides here, too, e.g the “Twilight Twenty” [as the local bicyclists call it] out on Hayden Ranch Road [http://tinyurl.com/zzwlesz] or just out from the house here on Lower Crabapple Road [http://tinyurl.com/n9rrjod].

Hi, what's your take on this? Let me know. - Hallo, und was meinst Du? Schreib' doch mal.

