Gallery

Compact Car

For most of my time here in Germany I had, like I always do, pre-booked a rental. Since I had wanted “some more metal around myself”, I hadn’t booked a small car [that would have been something in gte size of a Ford Fiesta] but a compact car. Well, when in the Hertz parking-lot in Bonn I saw the car I’d really get, my first hought was, “Well, that car certainly IS COMPACT!” It’s a Nissan Note and it really isn’t much bigger than a Ford Fiesta.

Kompaktklasse

Für den größten Teil meiner Zeit hier in Deutschland hatte ich mir, wie ich es immer tue, einen Leihwagen im Voraus gebucht. Da ich gerne “etwas mehr Blech um mich herum habe”, hatte ich keinen Kleinwagen [das wäre etwas in der Größenordnung z.B. eines Ford Fiesta gewesen] gebucht, sondern die nächstgrößere, die Kompaktklasse. Na ja, als ich dann auf dem Parkplatz der Hertz-Autovermietung in Bonn den Wagen sah, den ich bekommen würde, war mein erster Gedanke, “Der ist aber wirklich SEHR KOMPAKT!” Es ist übrigens ein Nissan Note und er ist wirklich kaum größer als ein Ford Fiesta.

Well, it is, of course, big enough for me since I’m just using it for myself, but still, as I said, “a little more metal around myself” would not come amiss. What I also found is that the engine is fairly small, and ratyher loud, too. If I hadn’t know better, I would have guessed it’s a Diesel, such is the growling/snarling noise it makes. And as to the performance: when I first took it on the Autobahn and had a gradient of just 4 to 5 %, I had to shift back into 4th gear! It’s a 1.2-liter engine with just 80 horsepower, and it needs quite high revolutions to halfway perform.

Na ja, der Wagen ist natürlich groß genug für mich, da ich ihn ja nur alleine nutze, aber wie schon gesagt, gegen “ein wenig mehr Blech um mich herum” hätte ich nun wirklich nichts auszusetzen gehabt. Außerdem ist die Maschine reichlich schmalbrüstig, und auch ziemlich laut. Wenn ich es nicht besser gewusst haette, so hätte ich auf Anhieb auf einen Diesel getippt, so knurrig ist er, zumindest im unteren Drehzahlbereich. Und was die Leistung angeht: als ich das erste Mal auf der Autobahn war und nur so etwa 4 bis 5 % Steigung hinauf musste, da war es schon nötig, in den 4. Gang zurückzuschalten. Es ist eben nur eine 1,2-Liter Maschine mit gerade einmal 80 PS, und die braucht ganz schön hohe Drehzahlen, wenn man halbwegs schnell beschleunigen möchte.

20 responses to “Compact Car

  1. Hauptsache es fährt ! 🙂

  2. Weierhin Gute Fahrt..Grüße von der Insel

    • Hallo Leonie,
      danke, dass Du Dir die Zeit genommen hast, hier in meinem Blog vorbeizuschauen, und auch einen Kommentar zu schreiben. 🙂 Zu “gute Fahrt”: ebenfalls danke. Morgen in der Frühe geht’s nach Frankfurt, und dann ab in die Heimat.
      Auch Dir weiterhin alles Gute, insbesondere gute Besserung, und dass Du bald wieder auf’s Rad kommst.
      Liebe Grüße,
      Pit

  3. Naja, das ein compact (eine Bezeichnung die es hier nicht gibt) in Europa noch etwas kleiner ist als in den USA hätte dir klar sein müssen 🙂 Aber es gibt hier schon einige Autos die arg seltsam sind. Nissan liegt dabei weit vorne. Aber auch ein Chevy Matiz oder ähnlich sind eher schlechte Beispiel für moderne Autos. Der neue Fiesta dahingegen hätte dir bestimmt gefallen. Oder auch der Opel Corsa ist völlig erwachsen. Toll. aber winzig ist der Audi A1 Opel Adam oder Fiat 500 sind noch kleiner. Fast jeder hat einen schwachbrüstigen 3 Zylinder im Programm. Völlig ok für den Stadtverkehr, aber rein gar nix für die Autobahn.
    Aber groß ist auch nicht gleich toll. Ich hatte in den USA einen Chevy 200 mit 2,7 Liter 170 PS. Leider mit einer, für US Verhältnisse normalen, 4 Gang Wandlerautomatik. Das Ding war völlig lahm und kam mit Steigungen gar nicht zurecht, trotz der Leistung. Autos sind schon ein Thema für sich 🙂
    Gute Reise !

    • Hallo Kalle,
      ich wusste schon, dass “Kompaktklasse” hier bei Hertz nicht das Gleiche bedeutet wie”compact car” in den USA. Da aber als Beispiel ein Ford Focus angegeben war, hatte ich eben doch auf ein etwas größeres Auto als diesen Nissan gehofft. Aber was soll’s: ich komme schon vorwärts. Und ans Schnellfahren bin ich ja sowieso nicht mehr gewöhnt. Wenn auch, mit unserem Escape drüben, an eine etwas höhere Beschleunigung. Was soll’s: nur noch morgen früh nach Frankfurt zum Flughafen, und dann bin ich die Kiste los. Danke für die guten Wünsche zur Reise. Ich melde mich wieder von jenseits des großen Teichs.
      Habt noch einen schoenen Restsonntag,
      Pit

  4. Hallo Pit. Hauptsache es hat dir gefallen. Freundliche Grüße, Wolfgang

  5. Aber er passt wunderbar in die Parklücke 🙂 !

  6. Du bist eben anderes gewohnt. 🙂
    Aber Hauptsache, er hat Dich überall hingebracht, wohin Du wolltest.
    LG Gabi

  7. Renting cars can be such a hit-or-miss experience, can’t it. But it’s a good way to try out different types! 🙂

    I’m traveling to the States for about a month (leave tomorrow) but don’t have to rent a car this time as I’ll be with family. But it will still be an experience learning their car’s aspects!

  8. When will we learn to have electric drive trains> My son in law just purchased a plug in Chev Volt complete with gas powered generator – he loves plus he says he drives way calmer now. We used to have a Smart car, which is really compact, but it didn’t like gravel roads.

    • Hi Bruce,
      And thanks for taking your time to visit my blog and leaving a comment. I’m not quite sure that electric cars are the solution to our energy/pollution problems, if we consider the complete energy balance from manufacturing [including the battery] through use [the way electricity is produced] to disposing of everthing [again the battery included]. I agree, though, that we’d have to explore all avenues to reduce our current carbon footprint. To my mind, hydrogen should be promoted more, since that can be produced using solar power. Whatever: let’s hope mankind will get wise.
      Have great day,
      Pit

      • Heh Pit – great to engage in the conversation – I’m not sure about anything any more!?. I mean, leading climatologists say we may need to revitalize nuclear power in order to reduce coal burning. I believe we haven’t even barely begun to embrace the possibilities of solar power. From what I have read about H2, it is a technology requiring a massive infrastructure which also require massive energy input, and as a energy delivery system it’s similar to electricity. i.e., is it is not a source of energy in itself. And we already have the grid in place, though it needs to be updated. No doubt the H2 fuel cell technology will be an important aspect of a solution to our present crises. As my final retirement car I am seriously considering an electric RAV4, cause we need a AWD to get up our steep road and we also have excess electricity. Bye for now and good luck with your garage project… Bruce.

        • Hi Bruce,
          Thanks for taking your time to come by and visit my blog and write a comment. Your engaging in the conversation is much appreciated. 🙂 I’m sorry it took me so long to answer. I agree with you. I, too, am not sure any more about what to think/do about our environment. But I’m sceptical about solar power as well as windpower, too. Both techniques have their own negative impact on our environment. I don’t know if in the long run and everything considered, they’re better for the environment than H2. And I must admit, I don’t know what the final impact of H2 on the environment will be either. There’s only one thing I’m sure about, as I wrote answering a comment to my blog about gas prices [http://tinyurl.com/kfsvr67]: mankind will do what can be done in satisfying an ever-growing hunger for energy, even if, in the long run, we’ll threaten our survival.
          Sorry about that negative outlook.
          In spite of this I wish you a most happy Thanksgiving,
          Pit

Hi, what's your take on this? Let me know. - Hallo, und was meinst Du? Schreib' doch mal.

