Gallery

Tour de Ted

Yesterday I took part in the Tour de Ted bicycle ride out of the former LBJ Ranch, now a National Historical Park, in Stonewall, Texas.

Tour de Ted

Gestern habe ich an der Tour de Ted teilgenommen, einer Radtour ausgehend von der ehemailgen Ranch von Lyndon B. Johnson, jetzt ein National Historical Park, in Stonewall, Texas.

The routes were the same as for the Annual LBJ 100 Bicycle Tour: 10, 30, 42, 65 and 85 miles in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. I had chosen the 42-mile ride, since that was all I believed I would be able to do in my present state of (un)fitness. I had not chosen the shorter [30-mile] ride as this has the steeper climbs. Well, as it turned out, this might have been a good decision as the climbs on the 42-miler were quite enough for me. More than enough, actually. I must admit, to my chagrin, that I had to walk my bicycle uphill much more often than I would have liked, especially during the second half of the ride, even on hills I would normally have cycled at a good clip. I was also quite happy about my decision not to use my Dancelli road bike but my Salsa Fargo 2, which has a gear range much more suitable to the Hill Country. In soite of that this ride clearly showed me the limitaioins of my present state of fitness and I was more than happy when I was back at the ranch and the torture of the last few miles was over.

Die Routen waren dieselben wie für die Annual LBJ 100 Bicycle Tour: 10, 30, 42, 65 und 85 Meilen der schönen Texas Hill Country. Ich hatte mich für die 42-Meilen Strecke entschieden, weil ich mir sicher war, dass sei Alles, was in bei meinem gegenwärtigen Stand der (Un)fitness schaffen können würde. Die kürzere Strecke von 30 Meilen hatten ich nicht gewählt, wei ich wusste, dass dort die Anstiege steiler sein würden. Und richtig: wie es sich zeigen sollte, waren die Anstiege auf der 42-Meilen Route steil genug. Mehr als genug, genau genommen, denn sehr zu meinem Verdruss musste ich mein Fahrrad wesentlich häufiger die Hügel hinauf schieben als mir lieb war, besonders in der zweiten Hälfte dieser Route, und da sogar bei kleineren Anstiegen, die ich normalerweise früher ohne Probleme noch nicht einmal in den Pedalen stehend, im Sattel bewältigt hätte. Es war auch eine gute Entscheidung, dass ich nicht mein Dancelli Straßenrennrad genommen hatte, sondern mein Salsa Fargo 2 mit seiner für huegeliges Gelände besser geeigneten Übersetzung. Trotzdem bin ich bei dieser Tour an die Grenzen meiner derzeitigen Leistungsfähigkeit gestoßen und war absolut erleichtert, als ich wieder auf der Ranch eintraf und die Quälerei der letzten Meilen ein Ende hatte. 

Move the cursor over any picture above and see the caption. A click on any of the pictures in the gallery will open it as a slide show. Those views will also allow you to read a more detailed description as well as some of the exif-data and also allow you to see the picture in its full resolution.

Um die Bildunterschrift zu sehen genügt es, den Cursor über irgendein ein Bild oben zu bewegen. Ein Klick auf eines der Bilder in der Galerie öffnet diese dann als Diashow. Diese Ansichten erlauben es nicht nur, eine weitaus detailliertere Beschreibung des Bildinhalts zu lesen sowie ein paar Exif-Daten zum Bild einzusehen, sondern auch das jeweilige Bild in voller Auflösung anzusehen.

As can be seen in the pictures, it was an overcast day with some rain and drizzle – that luckily before the ride. But then, the temperatures were great for riding, not the 80s and 90s that can happen around here even that late in the year. The ride was well organized, and at the end a cheque of $10,000 was presented to the cancer research. Another cheque – of $3,000 – went to the Superintendent of the Park, Russ Whitlock, on behalf of the Friends of the LBJ National Historical Park, who had helped to put that event together.

Wie man auf den Bildern sieht, war es ein trüber Tag mit etwas Regen und Nieseln – das aber glücklicherweise nur vor dem Start. Aber dadurch waren die Temperaturen auch gut für eine Radtour, nicht die 35 Grad und mehr, die es auch zu dieser Jahreszeit hier durchaus geben kann. Die Tour war gut organisiert, und am Ende gab es einen Scheck von $10.000 für Krebsforschung sowie einen von $3.000 für die Friends of the LBJ National Historical Park für deren großartige Hilfe beim Ausrichten dieser Tour, den der Superintendent des Park, Russ Whitlock, entgegen nahm.

18 responses to “Tour de Ted

  1. Good for you! No shame in doing a walking tour here and there on those hills. It’s all about getting out and doing it!

  2. Such a worthy cause, and it does look as if the day was perfect for the ride.

    • Hi Cindi,
      Yes, temperaturewise it was an ideal day. And I didn’t mind the overcast sky at all. We still had wonderful views. So absolutely enjoyable.
      Have a great day,
      Pit

  3. I am pretty sure 42 miles would kill me. I’d be lucky to get 4.2.

    In related news, I definitely need to get in better shape.

    • Hi Sarah,
      Thanks for stopping by to visit my blog and for leaving a comment. 🙂
      I can only agree with you that I definitely need to get in a better shape. I’m not giving up hope … yet. 😉
      Have a great day,
      Pit

  4. I was looking forward to seeing you biking post,Pit. A pretty hilly ride 🙂 Was it a cooler day?

    • Hi Amy,
      It was indeed a cooler day. Before the rides started, we had some drizzle and even some short showers, and I was afraid it would be a rainy day. But no, luckily. It stayed overcast, though, through most of the day and that made for excellent bicycling temperatures: just cool enough not to get into a terrible sweat. And yes, the Hill Country is aptly named!!! 😉
      Have a good one,
      Pit

  5. Looks like a fun place for a ride – or a walk! We just had our Paluxy Pedal here in Glen Rose. You should try it next year!

    • Hi Rhythm,
      I agree, the Hill Country is a fun place to ride a bicycle. But sometimes the hills are a little to much for me, in my present shape. I just checked: the Paluxy Pedal seems to be something I need to put on my bicycling bucket list. Is it always at the beginning of October? Thanks for mentioning it to me.
      Have a great day,
      Pit [at present from the Rhineland in Germany]

  6. englandliebhaber

    Well done.

  7. Lieber Pit, was für eine tolle Leistung. Gratuliere! Und wie mir scheint, hat es Dir ja trotz der Anstrengungen Spaß gemacht.
    LG Gabi

    • Hallo Gabi,
      danke für die Gratulation. 🙂 Einerseits: es war schon eine Leistung, vor allem nach so langer Pause. Aber andererseits hat die Tour mir auch gezeigt, dass ich doch wieder ganz viel an meiner Fitness tun muss. Kommt aber. Und ich muss auch sagen, dass mir fast die gesamte zweite Hälfte doch so schwer geworden ist, dass ich am Ende nur noch gewünscht habe, es möge endlich zu Ende sein. Na ja, im Rückblick war es doch schön.
      Liebe Grüße,
      Pit

Hi, what's your take on this? Let me know. - Hallo, und was meinst Du? Schreib' doch mal.

