Gallery

Tennisballs [2]

During the last few days, the Bodark trees in our front garden have been shedding their fruit like mad, and it really looked like the training courts at Wimbledon here:

Tennisbälle [2]

Während der vergangenen Tage haben unsere Bodark Bäume wie jeck ihre Früchte abgeworfen, und unser Vorgarten unter den Bäumen sah wie die Übungsplätze in Wimbledon aus:

bois d'arc

“Tennisballs” in the Garden [1]

bois d'arc

“Tennisballs” in the Garden [2]

There were quite a few for me to pick up, about half the trailer full:

Es waren eine ganze Menge für mich aufzuheben, etwa ein halber Anhänger voll:

bois d'arc

A Trailerload of “Tennisballs”

I put nearly all of them on the compost heap, but with a few I tried to grow them. Time will show if that effort will be successful.

Ich habe fast alle auf den Kompost gebracht, aber mit ein paar habe ich versucht, ob sie sich ziehen lassen. Die Zeit wird’s zeigen, ob der Versuch Erfolg haben wird.

15 responses to “Tennisballs [2]

  1. Hallo Pit. Kann man die essen? Ein schönes Wochenende. LG. Wolfgang

  2. Those are called horse apples around these parts. Although I’ve never known a horse to eat them. I’ve tried – didn’t care for them myself.

    • Hy Rhythm,
      Indeed, they’re sometimes called horseapples, too. I don’t think because horses eat them, though, but because they kind of look like their dropping. From what I read about their taste, I can well imagine that you didn’t like to eat them. Here, the deer sometimes munch on them, but not usually. They, too, prefer something different.
      Have a great weekend,
      Pit

  3. We call them Horse Apples, too. I’ve tried them…bitter. Apparently they are good at repelling bugs (roaches), and are used as centerpieces (smell good). I might have to try that.

    • The deer seem to eat them, though. As to them repelling bugs: what I’ve read is that you’d need to make a concentrate. I haven’t tried the smell yet.

  4. Gib es zu. Du hast heimlich für Wimbledon geübt 🙂
    LG Gabi

  5. Until now I had never seen it called “Bodark.” In South Texas we knew it as either osage orange or horse apple. In my forestry classes at Texas A&M University, we had to use its real name, “Bois d’arc” (Maclura pomifera). Its one of the few scientific names I still know. I found one growing here in San Diego a few months ago and got some good pictures.

  6. Hi Russel,
    Thank you for taking your time to stop by visiting my blog and leaving so many comments. 🙂
    I believe that “Bodark” is just some kind of ohinetic spelling of the original “Bois d’arc”.
    We really like those trees as they’re some of the largest in our garden. And full of leaves: wonderfully green.
    Have a great Sunday afternoon in California,
    Pit

  7. Pingback: I’m Still So Little … | Pit's Fritztown News

  8. Pingback: We’re Growing Tennis Balls Again | Pit's Fritztown News

Hi, what's your take on this? Let me know. - Hallo, und was meinst Du? Schreib' doch mal.

